How I prepared for Japanese-Language Proficiency Test: JLPT N2 and N1 (part 1)

Vanilla (*˘︶˘*).。.:*♡
5 min readApr 15, 2021

--

When I studied Japanese for the first time, I had heard about JLPT (Japanese-Language Proficiency Test) levels but I didn’t aim to study to the top level. After I had studied for two years, I tried to challenge myself and I passed the N2 level. Even after I passed it, I didn’t think I could use Japanese for work with that limited language knowledge. So I sought further upper-level study. This brought me to get into an epic preparation for JLPT N1.

One of the things that I like about Japanese study is that the materials are well-set for each level. In my opinion, when you have studied all of the provided materials in that particular level N5-N3, there is a high possibilityyou will pass the exam. The materials literally cover thecontent in the test.

Preparation for JLPT N2

Before the test in Dec 2015, I had free time a bit while I was looking for a job. So I spent days and nights studying for one month, 8–10 hours a day. Before that I read through vocabs and kanji in my leisure time.

Here are the materials that I used.

Grammar

1. Try! Japanese Lanquage Proficiency test N2

This book covers almost all the grammar in the N2 level. Each lesson starts with short articles, then grammar explanation, example sentences and ends with exercises.

Things I like about this book.

  1. It comes with audio files. Personally, I think this is a good way to absorb language usage rather than memorizing solely each grammar meaning. Audio files also good for the istening part. I later realised that I was mainly studying by eyes remembering kanji. I couldn’t catch the meaning when listening to sentences with kanji but I knew its meaning when I see it. Listening to audio file also helps to improve understanding of usage. For example, some types of grammar are likely to be used in news, announcements.
  2. There are frequency usage star indicators. There are more than 100 new grammars in N2 level. More stars mean more importance.
  3. Summarize chart is really helpful! In this level, there are many grammars that look similar. It’s confusing, isn’t it? Can you believe that below have different meaning?
  • Nに限り
  • Nに限って…ない
  • V限り
  • Nに限らず
  • Nに限って
  • …に限る

2. 完全マスター2級日本語能力試験文法問題対策

I guess this book is a bit old as it is the 1997 version. There is a new version which is New Kanzen Master JLPT N2: Grammar. The highlight is that it contains lots of exercises. It explains each grammar point with some example sentences. After 15–20 grammar points, there is one exercise. After each section, there is also an exercise. Totally, there are about 14 exercises for you to practice. This is a good way to check your understanding of grammar.

I used these two books for my main grammar studying. Doing a lot of exercises, trying to distinguish each grammar meanning and usage are core to hack this part.

Vocabulary and kanji

I’m a fan of the Nihongo So-Matome series! I have been using this series from N3 to N1, especially for kanji and vocabulary. This set is a must-have for JPLT preparation. There are sentences/phases for each word. I reviewed these books over and over again. The content is grouped into many sections such as vocabs about life, work, expressions, adjectives, adverbs, verb sets etc. It’s also useful for daily life. Honestly, I don’t memorize every word especially, adverbs. Try to read other materials such as newspaper, articles so you can recall words/kanji in these books.

To enhance memorizing vocabulary and kanji, using flashcard mobile application also works. You can also take your own short notes, carry them whenever you go, review them even when you have small amount of time. It is important to input little by little to your brain. So you should prepare it at least 3 months ahead. One book has 8 lessons. One lesson contains day 1, day 2…until day 7 which is exercise. So you won’t be intensively inputting everything in one shot. For the kanji book, there are about 7 new kanji each day, plus additional kanji each week. For the vocab book, it’s about 20–30 each day, I believe they are not all your new vocabs so don’t worry.

For this level, I give more weight to kanji than I do to vocab. I suppose kanji in this level is significant and widely used in daily life.

Listening

Sources for practicing listening depends on your favourite movies, animes, series, TV programs etc. To explore what the test looks like, you can use New Kanzen Master JLPT N2: Listening. There is one mock test. I used this one as my main one but also found other old tests in Youtube. The most important thing in the listening test is concentration. If you lose your concentration, keep going. Don’t try to think back otherwise you will miss next question.

Reading

Reading is the most difficult part for me. My score is worse than other parts. It not only tests your comprehension, it also tests your reading speed. Some people say you shouldn’t read through every single word though. The other important thing is understanding of Japanese mind.

The books I used are again, New Kanzen Master JLPT N2: Reading and Nihongo So-matome JLPT N2: Reading. Both introduce you to recognize how to read context clues, how to catch the writer’s idea/purpose. You will be introduced to the indirect style of emotion/idea expressions of Japanese language.

In my opinion, the Nihongo So-matome one is a bit lighter. If you have time, you can start with this first. New Kanzen Mater is a must for reading preparation.

Well, like with other skills, the more you read the more you familiar with the language.

To be continued…

つづく

--

--

Vanilla (*˘︶˘*).。.:*♡
0 Followers

A banker who is interested in Japanese language, loves reading especially Japanese literature and travel journey.